Toronto, ON – Since the release of their highly celebrated debut House of Ill Fame (2003), The Trews have gained a reputation as one of Canada’s most electrifying live Rock bands. Ten years, five studio albums and thousands of gigs in, the East Coast-bred, Ontario-based rockers are still going strong and are as willing as ever to break the mold, as their 2014 self-titled album, scheduled for release on April 22, 2014, proves without a doubt.
“This album is our thank you letter to our fans,” says Colin MacDonald, lead vocals and guitar. “We felt that we owed them a great record because without them we wouldn’t be able to do what we love to do, make music. We worked really hard on this new collection of songs and we are so proud of what we’ve built.”
The Trews blazing lead single “What’s Fair Is Fair” hit the ground running at radio and nabbed the #1 Most Added song at Canadian Active Rock radio (Mediabase) the week of February 24. The single was released via on March 4 and the accompanying lyric video is currently on To celebrate the upcoming release, The Trews will host an official launch party at the Danforth Music Hall in Toronto on April 26, 2014. Tickets to the show are available via
Produced by Gavin Brown (Metric, Billy Talent, The Tragically Hip) and guitarist John-Angus MacDonald (The Trews, The Glorious Sons), The Trews (Home Music / eOne Music Canada), not only boasts a guest spot by Canadian songstress, Serena Ryder, but contributions from die-hard Trews fans on some tracks; just one of the perks available to fans who contributed to The Trews’ hugely successful PledgeMusic campaign. In addition to allowing loyal supporters unparalleled access to the band during the recording process and partially funding the record, the PledgeMusic campaign, which concludes on April 22, is an effort by The Trews to raise funds for Cystic Fibrosis Canada in honour of a friend who passed away from CF last year.
The blend of upbeat rockers and raw ballads on The Trews displays the foursome’s growth as songwriters and performers as never before, and nowhere more so than on “In the Morning” featuring Serena Ryder, and “65 Roses,” a song inspired by their close friend’s struggle with CF. The Trews will donate 5% of any additional funds raised during their campaign to Cystic Fibrosis Canada (Peel & District Chapter). To learn more about the PledgeMusic Campaign visit,
The Trews have had 13 Top 10 singles on Rock radio, hitting #1 with “Not Ready to Go,” (the Most Played song of 2004 on Rock Radio) and “Yearning” from their 2005 sophomore album, Den Of Thieves. With two Gold Certified albums to their credit, they have cemented themselves as one of Canada’s most distinguished Canadian Rock bands. The band has won multiple East Coast Music Awards, the 2009 Annual Independent Music Award in the US for Best Rock/Metal Song, received numerous JUNO Award nominations and played well over 1,000 shows worldwide, both on their own and supporting legendary acts including The Rolling Stones, KISS, Robert Plant, Guns ‘n Roses, Kid Rock and Bruce Springsteen.

The Trews – Track Listing
1.     Rise In The Wake
2.     Age of Miracles
3.     Permanent Love
4.     The Sentimentalist
5.     65 Roses
6.     What’s Fair Is Fair
7.     Where There’s Love
8.     In The Morning
9.     New King
10.   Living The Dream
11.   Under The Sun

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.