All Photography By: Fridae Mattas


All Photography By: Fridae Mattas

October 18, 2011 —  LOS ANGELES, CA: Following an incredible year in the king of independent hip-hop’s 20-year long career and a show-stopping performance on Lil Wayne’s “Tha Carter IV”, Strange Music is proud to announce the next Tech N9ne Collabos record, entitled Welcome To Strangeland.  The record’s release will coincide with the enigmatic rapper’s 40th birthday on November 8th. 

In this installment of the series, Tech N9ne travels through his own “Strangeland” meeting up exclusively with a host of artists signed to, or affiliated with, his Strange Music recording group including Krizz Kaliko, Kutt Calhoun, Jay Rock, Brotha Lynch Hung, Prozak, Stevie Stone, Irv Da Phenom, Ces Cru, Liz Suwandi, Bernz and Wrekonize of ¡MAYDAY!, and others.  “Anyone I’m collaborating with understands where I’m coming from and the level of quality I represent,” explains the Kansas City native.  “That’s why I’m always completely behind these Collabos releases. Seeing how the artists on Welcome To Strangeland are all artists fit to be members of the Strange Music roster, this is the strongest, Strangest Collabo release yet.”

The album is led by the Plex Luthor produced “The Noose”.  Featuring former MTV battle-rap champ Wrekonize and Bernz of the Miami-based hip-hop sextet ¡Mayday!, “The Noose” is one of Tech N9ne’s most daring and morbid songs of his career.  Inspired by a recent visit to Camp Pendleton with US-troops injured in combat, Tech N9ne reflects on the ever-increasing woes of this world and a growing sense of communal apathy while wrestling with the idea of suicide. 

“To me [‘The Noose’] is just saying I don’t wanna be taken by another man. I don’t want my fate to be in another man’s hands. So ‘I’m hanging up the noose now, waiting for the end.’  That’s how I looked at it.  I don’t condone suicide at all, but I understand…Let me be the reason why I die. Not saying that I’m condoning suicide, but damn, some of these people think like that.”

All Photography By: Fridae Mattas

On whether or not the song promotes self-destruction, Wrekonize chimes in, “Initially, it was more about just that feeling you get when you’re so fed up that you don’t really know what to do, and feeling like, ‘Damn’…When the negativity in the world gets the better of you and you’re overwhelmed with it.  Even though [‘The Noose’] does touch upon a negative outlook on it, and it has a very morbid outlook, it’s something that sympathizes with the way that they might feel, which I feel like turns into a positive thing in the end. “ Earlier this year, Tech N9ne released his 12th studio album, All 6’s and 7’s, which debuted at #1 on the Billboard Rap Albums chart and #4 on the Billboard 200.  With over 1.8 million records sold independently to date and placements of his music in film, TV and video games, Tech N9ne and his Strange Music label are the gold standard in self-reliance.  Tech N9ne maintains one of the music business’ most demanding touring schedules with over 200 shows a year domestically and abroad.  You can currently catch Tech N9ne on one of the 42-dates of his “Lost Cities” tour that runs through November 19th.

All Photography By: Fridae Mattas

1. Stars                                               

2. Welcome to Strangeland (featuring Krizz Kaliko)           

3. Unfair (featuring Krizz Kaliko, Ubiquitous of Ces Cru & Godemis of Ces Cru)

4. Kocky (featuring Kutt Calhoun & Jay Rock)

5. Who Do I Catch

6. My Favorite            (featuring Prozak & Brotha Lynch Hung)

7.  Retrogression (featuring ¡MAYDAY!)

8. Bang Out (featuring 816 Boys)

9. Beautiful Music

10. Won’t You Come Dirty (featuring Young Bleed & Stevie Stone)

11. Sad Circus            (featuring Brotha Lynch Hung & Courtney Kuhnz)

12. The Noose (featuring ¡MAYDAY!)

13. Slave (featuring Krizz Kaliko & Kutt Calhoun)

14. Overwhelming (featuring Jay Da 3rd)

15. Gods (featuring Krizz Kaliko & Kutt Calhoun)

16. I Need A Drink

17. The Real Thing (featuring Liz Suwandi)           

18. EMJ



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.